SOLLIMA Giovanni

(Palermo, 1962)

Viaggio in Italia per voce maschile, violoncello, quintetto d'archi ed electronics
01h 07' 00" Chamber

testi di Michelangelo Buonarroti, Francesco Borromini e Giordano Bruno
Vc.sol. 2 Vni, Vla, Vc. - CD
1. Federico II per quartetto d'archi
2. Giotto - Dante per violoncello e CD
3. Bella e crudele per voce maschile e quartetto d'archi
4. Campo dei miracoli per quintetto d'archi
5. Ritratto di musico per violoncello
6. L'ortolano per quartetto d'archi
7. Borromini per voce maschile e quartetto d'archi
8. L'isola Ferdinandea per quintetto o quartetto d'archi
9. Campo de' fiori per voce maschile, violoncello e quartetto d'archi
10. La tempesta per violoncello
11. Zobeide per quartetto d'archi
12. Casanova sonata per quintetto d'archi e CD
13. Cretto per quartetto d'archi
14. La camera bianca per quintetto d'archi

Material on rental

Commissioned for the 80th anniversary of the Buccellati jewelers, this composition premiered at Carnegie Hall in New York and later performed in Washington DC (Baird Auditorium, Smithsonian Institution), Strasburg, Istanbul, Venice (Bienniale Danza Musica Teatro), Genoa (Palazzo Ducale), Milan (Palazzo Clerici and La Scala Philharmonic). To conduct the listener in this voyage, the composer uses contrasting perspectives that 'have forever accompanied the history of Italian art, including those which are left unresolved by enigmatic and ambiguous aspects that can be at times dramatic and, at others, playful. The basic theme of the composition comes not from the perfection of each work of art, but instead from the concept that the imperfection of man in itself finds the fruit of perfection' (Sollima). The excerpt Zobeide was released on the CD Works by Sony.

Composed in: 2000

Operas of SOLLIMA Giovanni