SOLLIMA Giovanni

(Palermo, 1962)

Tempeste e ritratti per orchestra da camera
00h 16' 00" Symphonic

2222-2200 - Tp. - Archi

Orchestral material on rental

Commissioned by the La Scala Philharmonic and directed by Riccardo Muti for the closing concert of the 2001 season, this symphony was based on Shakespeare's The Tempest. It is divided into three sections: the second and the third are portraits of Prospero and Miranda, while the first serves as an expression of the storm. Sollima evokes the sense of the island and the darkness of its inhabitants in a score he calls 'a piece with a double soul: one Mediterranean and the other more symphonic in nature'.

Composed in: 2001

Operas of SOLLIMA Giovanni